Jump to ContentJump to Main Navigation
Bach's Cycle, Mozart's ArrowAn Essay on the Origins of Musical Modernity$
Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content.

Karol Berger

Print publication date: 2007

Print ISBN-13: 9780520250918

Published to California Scholarship Online: May 2012

DOI: 10.1525/california/9780520250918.001.0001

Show Summary Details
Page of

PRINTED FROM CALIFORNIA SCHOLARSHIP ONLINE (www.california.universitypressscholarship.com). (c) Copyright University of California Press, 2022. All Rights Reserved. An individual user may print out a PDF of a single chapter of a monograph in CALSO for personal use.date: 27 June 2022

The Hidden Center

The Hidden Center

(p.199) 5 The Hidden Center
Bach's Cycle, Mozart's Arrow

Karol Berger

University of California Press

This chapter presents detailed readings of several celebrated ensembles—specifically the Figaro Sextet, the Idomeneo Quartet, the Don Giovanni Quartet, the first-act Figaro Trio, and the Don Giovanni Sextet. It aims to show the distance Mozart could put between himself and traditional formal patterns when the dramatic occasion required to show that linear, future-oriented time can acquire a variety of highly individual shapes.

Keywords:   ensembles, Mozart, Figaro Sextet, Idomeneo Quartet, Don Giovanni Quartet, Figaro Trio, Don Giovanni Sextet, linear time

California Scholarship Online requires a subscription or purchase to access the full text of books within the service. Public users can however freely search the site and view the abstracts and keywords for each book and chapter.

Please, subscribe or login to access full text content.

If you think you should have access to this title, please contact your librarian.

To troubleshoot, please check our FAQs, and if you can't find the answer there, please contact us.