Jump to ContentJump to Main Navigation
Music after the Fall – Modern Composition and Culture since 1989 - California Scholarship Online
Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content.

Music after the Fall: Modern Composition and Culture since 1989

Tim Rutherford-Johnson


By the start of the 21st century many of the foundations of postwar culture had disappeared: Europe had been rebuilt and, as the EU, had become one of the world’s largest economies; the United States’ claim to global dominance was threatened; and the postwar social democratic consensus was being replaced by market-led neoliberalism. Most importantly of all, the Cold War was over, and the World Wide Web had been born. Music After The Fall considers contemporary musical composition against this changed backdrop, placing it in the context of globalization, digitization, and new media. Drawing on ... More

Keywords: new music, composition, digitization, globalization, sound art, experimental music, media, 1989

Bibliographic Information

Print publication date: 2017 Print ISBN-13: 9780520283145
Published to California Scholarship Online: September 2017 DOI:10.1525/california/9780520283145.001.0001


Affiliations are at time of print publication.

Tim Rutherford-Johnson, author